Kangaroo Island Football League presents 2019 Mail Medal winners | PHOTOS

The Kangaroo Island Football League held its Mail Medal presentation ceremony at the Aurora Ozone Hotel on Monday night.

Josh Graham, captain of Western Districts, was named the 2018 Mail Medal Winner, winning by just one point despite missing several games toward the end of the season.

Graham thanked the league, the committee and the whole of Kangaroo Island.

"I love playing for Wonkies where I have been for 13 years," he said. "They are great mates and great footballers to play with and hopefully we will go all the way."

Life memberships were presented to Leon Hall, David McArdle and Andrew Fogden.

The Islander Leading Goal Kicker for the Year Award for Reserves went to Corey Hammat from Western Districts and for A Grade to Nathan Trethewey from Parndana.

Big congratulations to Western Districts, awarded South Adelaide Football Club Pathway Club of the Year, with a bag of footballs presented by South's Reserve coach Michael Handby.

Ozone Medal went to Luke Stewart from the Wisanger Football Club and there were joint winners of the DK Johnston Reserves Medal, Alex Laver of Western Districts and Michael Mills of Parndana.

KIFL Youth Squad coach Jeff Fox and A Grade Association team coach Heath Gurney were recognised for their efforts with the Association Coach awards.

The best first-year senior player award went to Bailey Gaskin. KIFL patron and KI mayor Michael Pengilly presented the award to to Sharon Gaskin, collecting it on behalf of Bailey, who is currently away on his Aboriginal studies course.

MC was again former cricketer Wayne Phillips, who has overseen the KI Mail Medal presentation for the last 15 years, speaking about his many accomplishments.

The league managed to get him fishing out of Stokes Bay for whiting and then for marron at an undisclosed location.

Life member Robert "Spoggy" Ward spoke about how KI's football league was the greatest league, still having five clubs after 50 years.

"We are the most successful league in SA, bar none," he said. "So let's all be friendly and love one another. You should feel proud that you are part of the best league in the State and don't let anyone tell you anything else."

TOP MARKS: Darcy Kildea, of South Augusta, shows off his Madigan Medal while flanked by medal sponsor Mark Hanlon, left, and Spencer Gulf League president Les Promnitz.

TOP MARKS: Darcy Kildea, of South Augusta, shows off his Madigan Medal while flanked by medal sponsor Mark Hanlon, left, and Spencer Gulf League president Les Promnitz.

KI's Darcy Kildea wins second medal

Former KI resident Darcy Kildea has won his second Madigan Medal in the Spencer Gulf League. He also received the Transcontinental Medal as top Port Augusta footballer.

The champion midfielder from the South Augusta team polled 24 votes to lead West Augusta's Nick Collins, 19 votes, and Lions' Tyler Eckert, 18 votes.

The count for the Madigan Medal, awarded to the Spencer Gulf League's best-and-fairest player, was at the Port Football and Community Sporting Club.

Kildea, a teacher in Port Augusta, led for most of the count and consolidated his position in the final stages.

Modestly, he said he had not expected the win and paid tribute to his team-mates.

"I really didn't think I was going to win this, hence the thongs and hat that I am wearing," he told the gathering of league, umpiring and club representatives.

"Kriston Thompson had a better year. It is like getting an 'A' on a group project and you didn't do anything."

He thanked the club, his family and his girlfriend Kate for their support.

Later, he told The Recorder that Kriston Thompson "gets the hard ball" for the club in the midfield.

"I hang from the outside and get the cheap kicks, really," he said.

He started his football career on Kangaroo Island at 10 years old, progressing through Westminster Old Scholars and a team in the APY Lands before joining the Bulldogs.

He said "mateship" was the best thing about football.

Kildea teaches at Port Augusta Secondary School. He won the medal in 2017.


Discuss "Kangaroo Island Football League presents 2019 Mail Medal winners | PHOTOS"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.