Champion of champions: Top bowlers compete for supremacy

During the year each bowling club holds internal competitions to determine club champions in mens and womens fours, pairs and singles. A mixed pairs champion is also decided.

To decide the island champions these club champions play off for the title of champion of champions.

On March 8 the club champions of the mens and womens pairs and the mixed pairs from Kingscote, Birchmore and Parndana played off, representing Kingscote in the mens pairs were Steve Bell and Craig Boxer, Birchmore Gerard Berden and Gerard Glynn and Parndana Michael Couchman and Josh Shalay. After they played each other the champions of the island were Gerard Berden and Gerard Glynn.

Representing the club champions in the women pairs were Michelle Barrett and Jude Bell from Kingscote, Joylene Cowan and Pauline O'Brien who withdrew and was replaced by Jan Possingham from Birchmore and Chris Childs and Cindy Bell from Parndana. After they played Michelle Barrett and Jude Bell took out the title.

The mixed pairs representatives were from Kingscote Gayle and Daryl Steinwedel, Birchmore Pauline and Dave O'Brien and from Parndana Claire and Chris Downing.

Unfortunately the O'Briens had to withdraw so the Steinwedels and Downings played off for the title with the Steinwedels being named champions.

On March 9 the club champions of the mens and womens singles were decided with Daryl Steinwedel from Kingscote, Gerard Berden from Birchmore and Jarrad McArdle from Parndana playing for the title of men's singles champion with Daryl Steinwedel being victorious.

The women's singles competitors were Michelle Barrett from Kingscote, Maria Lehmann from Birchmore and Claire Downing from Parndana. The women's singles champion going to Michelle Barrett.

March 15 the men's and women's fours club champions played for the title of island champions.

Representing the women's teams from Kingscote were Gayle Steinwedel, Mary Glasson, Trudy-Ann Johnson and Leonie Bell, from Birchmore Betty Collins, Joylene Cowan, Teresa Auai, Jan Possingham and from Parndana Heather Mossop, Anne Arnold, Ross Morgan and Chris Childs. Claiming the title were the Birchmore ladies.

The men's teams were from Kingscote Peter Barker, Gavin Buick, John Berden and Barry Keitel, from Birchmore Gordon Black, Terry Lehmann, Gerard Glynn and Gerard Berden and from Parndana Max Smith, Trevor Bell, Josh Shalay and Michael Couchman. The winners and island champions were the Birchmore team.

Congratulations to all the Kangaroo Island champion of champions.